WikiTunes: More "Exposure"

Surviving in the post-apocalyptic music economy

Moderator: Bob Olhsson

nobby

WikiTunes: More "Exposure"

Post by nobby »

Mi2n should be seen as a purveyor of unvetted press releases.

No, stupid spell-check bot, unvetted is not incorrectly spelled.

Unedited, too.

It appears that the author of the WikiTunes service article is writing about himself, interviewing himself and answering questions he asks himself and isn't clever enough to cover it up.
Why did you choose & how did you hear about Wikitunes?

As an independent recording artist I know how hard it is to promote our music and our recordings when radio airplay is so limited. My dream is to build a community of music makers and music lovers who can come to the site and share new music with each other—for free! By giving a free download the recording artist can build more fans and expand his/her reach to new audiences in a very friendly way.

What does Wikitunes offer artists/bands that other social sites do not?

We want to build a very friendly site, for both artists and music lovers to come and find and experience new music they otherwise wouldn't know about. Our goal is to always offer a free service so that folks can come for free downloads and get a better feel about what is new on the music scene.
Oh. So you heard about it and chose it because it's a site you developed, and thought you'd interview yourself in a nakedly disingenuous "article".
What are you looking to gain by being on Wikitunes?

As the site grows in popularity, I hope that more and more music lovers will discover my music, take my free download, like my free song, and then follow my links to other sites where they can purchase my songs: Amazon, iTunes, CD Baby. I hope eventually enough music lovers will like my free songs to actually buy other songs that I record and release.
Translation: You hope to get rich by selling the service in an IPO some day. Sorry, but I've gotten cynical.